Facebook pixel 2016-2017 Parris Award Winners Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Caruso School of Law

2016-2017 Parris Award Winners

April 17, 2017| By Alexa Brown — The 2016-2017 Parris Awards honored students who demonstrated professionalism, integrity, and other qualities that Pepperdine Law holds at its foundation. Faculty, staff, and students nominated the candidates and voted based on actual narratives that captured each candidate's attributes. Over 275 guests attended this year's awards ceremony. The winners are as follows:

  • Evan T. Carthen Awards for Inspirational Leadership: Ava Jahanvash, Ginsey Varghese, Sarah George

  • Excellence in Professionalism: Derek O'Reilly-Jones

  • Excellence in Peacemaking: Michelle Zaks

  • Excellence in Service: Brittany Hughes

  • Excellence in Courage: Duran Kamgar-Parsi

  • Excellence in Leadership: Alex Caruso

  • Excellence in Character: Alice Anderson, Cameron McCollum, Marcel Sincich

  • The Pepperdine Award: Jessica Freitas

Honored guests included Rex Parris, President Andrew Benton, Executive Vice President Gary Hanson, Vice Chancellor Sara Y. Jackson, Dean Deanell Tacha, Dean Emeritus Ron Phillips, and the Carthen Family. Ms. Twillea Evans-Carthen presented the Evan T. Carthen Award for Inspirational Leadership to three first-year students, one student per law section.