Facebook pixel Pepperdine Caruso Law Honors Community Members at 7th Annual Parris Institute for Professional Excellence Awards - Surf Report | Pepperdine Caruso School of Law Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Caruso School of Law

Pepperdine Caruso Law Honors Community Members at 7th Annual Parris Institute for Professional Excellence Awards

Each year, Pepperdine Caruso Law invites the entire community of students, faculty, and staff to nominate their colleagues and peers who represent outstanding integrity, character, and leadership for the Annual Parris Institute for Professional Excellence Awards. On April 8, 2021, Caruso Law continued the annual tradition, hosting the ceremony in a remote format. Special guests this year were Rex and Carol Parris, who founded the institute in 2014.

In his opening remarks, Dean Paul Caron commented, "This is always a time to celebrate our students, but this year is even more special because we are recognizing our faculty and staff as well. ... I am so happy that we have the opportunity to celebrate our faculty and staff, as well as our students, at this year's Parris awards."

The 2021 Parris Award recipients are:

Student Awards

Evan T. Carthen 1L Inspirational Leadership Award:

Section A
Tyler Lisea

Section B
Tyra Jenkins

Section C
Susan Posluszny

Excellence in Service:
Brynn Barton

Excellence in Professionalism:
Gage Eller

Excellence in Peacemaking:
Zino Osehobo

Excellence in Courage:
Roxanne Swedelson
Sophie Sarchet

Excellence in Leadership:
Zachary Carstens
Amy Jicha

Excellence in Character:
Alexandra Boutelle

Pepperdine Award:
Kelly Shea Delvac

Preceptor Award

Awards are also presented to alumni preceptors, who are paired with first-year students as mentors during their first year of law school.

Preceptors of the Year:

Emily Allen (JD '05), Partner at Fragomen, Del Rey, Bernsen & Loewy, LLP

Robert Weinberg (JD' 83), Owner at the Law Offices of Robert A. Weinberg

Faculty/Staff Impact Awards

The Faculty/Staff Impact Awards were introduced this year to recognize full-time faculty and staff members who have made an exceptional impact in the lives of the law school's students.

Selina Farrell, Associate Professor of Legal Research Writing, and Director of Academic Excellence

Randi Redman, Assistant Director, Admissions and Student Services, Straus Institute for Dispute Resolution

Fedelma Zahlit, Executive Assistant to the Vice Dean for Academic Affairs and Student Life, and Deans' Suite Manager

Faculty Awards

Normally presented during the annual School of Law dinner, these awards were originally presented at an online faculty meeting in March.

1L Professor of the Year:
Stephanie Williams

Upper-year Professor of the Year:
Steve Schultz

Skip McDermott Award:
Gregory L. Ogden

Dean's Excellence in Scholarship Award:
David Han
Christine Goodman
Shelley Ross Saxer

Congratulations to all award winners!

Parris Award recipients 2021