Facebook pixel 2016 Cross Examination Competition winners Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Caruso School of Law

2016 Cross Examination Competition winners

December 5, 2016 -- From the Trial Advocacy Board:

Congratulations to our 2016 Cross Examination Competition winners for an excellent performance of what has been described as the most difficult, and arguably, most important part of our moot trial world.

1st Place: Katarina Niparko – winning $1500.  Her courtroom presence, intelligent theme and questions, along with full utilization of the evidence and demonstratives raised her to the top.

2nd Place: Phillip Denny and Scott Morrison – winning $625 each.  These two gentleman were so organized and in control of the witness, the judges couldn't say one is third place in good faith, so named them a second place tie.

These three were also offered positions on the Pepperdine Law Trial Team and will be partners, competing together next semester in the American Association for Justice (AAJ) Student Trial Advocacy Competition.  No luck needed – they have talent.

We would also like to congratulate Mary-Kathleen Kelledy, Daniel Ledezma, and Arman Shirinian, our semi-finalists; and Honorable Mention to the following for excellent cross-examinations: Lindsay Bowden, Kevin Dufner, and Brendan Walsh.  The preparedness and effort all the competitors gave  made judging a difficult but rewarding task.

The Trial Advocacy Board would give a special 'thank you' to Otto Cipolla for his continued support and generosity, and Professor Caldwell for his invaluable education and mentorship.

In keeping the tradition of Pepperdine Law's great Trial Advocacy Program, we encourage anyone interested to "like" our Facebook page for more updates and information – search "Pepperdine Law Trial Advocacy."