Facebook pixel Pepperdine Caruso Law Vincent S. Dalsimer Competition 2022 - Surf Report | Pepperdine Caruso School of Law Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Caruso School of Law

Pepperdine Caruso Law Vincent S. Dalsimer Competition 2022

Pepperdine Caruso Law's annual Vincent S. Dalsimer Moot Court Competition final round was held on Friday, April 15, 2022. The final round judges consisted of Caruso Law alumni the Honorable Wendy McGuire Coats (JD '05) of the Contra Costa County Superior Court; the Honorable Dwayne K. Moring ('84, JD '91) of the San Diego County Superior Court; and the Honorable Tara Reilly (JD '89) of the San Bernardino County Superior Court, who served as Chief Justice for the round. Caruso Law student Christina Ricci served as the timekeeper and bailiff for the final round.

After the final round of the competition, Rebecca Voth and Caroline Whitener were awarded first place, and each will receive a $1,000 cash prize. Jonathan Maseng and Gabriella Castro were awarded second place, and each will each receive $250. During the preliminary rounds of the competition held on April 9, three students were awarded the Best Oral Advocate awards for the competition. Jonathan Maseng and Patrick Babajanian tied for second place, and will each receive a $1,000 cash prize. David Portillo was honored as the Overall Best Oral Advocate and will receive a $2,000 cash prize.

Congratulations to all the students who competed with excellence in the competition.

The Caruso Law Moot Court Board leadership team hosts the annual competition. This year's Moot Court Board Dalsimer Competition Chair was Bernadette Tuano. Hannah Katz, the Moot Court Board Vice Chair, and Iasia Beh, the Moot Court Board Chair, were also crucial to the competition's success, while the Moot Court Board faculty advisor, Professor Victoria Votino, supervised the competition. Thank you all for your hard work and dedication to Caruso Law's Appellate Advocacy Program.

Dalsimer judges 2022