Facebook pixel Pepperdine Caruso Law Celebrates 10th Annual Parris Awards for Professional Excellence - Surf Report | Pepperdine Caruso School of Law Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Caruso School of Law

Pepperdine Caruso Law Celebrates 10th Annual Parris Awards for Professional Excellence

The Parris Institute for Professional Excellence celebrated a milestone year as it proudly hosted its 10th Annual Awards ceremony on April 4. The Pepperdine Caruso Law community enthusiastically participated in the cherished event, which took place in the welcoming and very full Caruso Law atrium.

The atmosphere was filled with excitement as the community recognized the deserving award recipients, distinguished presenters, and esteemed nominees, all uniting in the spirit of celebration during the festive luncheon.

As a tradition, Caruso Law extends an open invitation to its entire community of students, faculty, and staff to nominate individuals who exemplify integrity, character, and leadership for special recognition. Each nomination and subsequent award is grounded in compelling narratives that capture the exceptional contributions of every candidate.

The 2024 Parris Award recipients are:

Evan T. Carthen 1L Award for Inspirational Leadership

Section A

  • Eleanor Olsen

Section B

  • Isaac Zwerling

Section C

  • Ashley Pae

Excellence in Professionalism

  • Ava Rezaee
  • Harrison Meads

Excellence in Service

  • Mason Folse

Excellence in Peacemaking

  • Carolyn Deal

Excellence in Courage

  • Rachel Robson

Excellence in Leadership

  • Sophie Nelson

Excellence in Character

  • Jacob Neill
  • Aria Aghalarpour

Pepperdine Award

  • Phillip Allevato

In addition to the Parris Awards:

  • The Preceptor of the Year Award was awarded to Caruso Law alumnus Charlie Melcombe
  • The Staff Impact Award was awarded to Allyse Wesolowski
  • The 1L Professor of the Year was awarded to professors Michael Helfand and Trey Childress
  • The 2L/3L Professor of the Year was awarded to professor Ahmed Taha
  • The Skip McDermott Award was awarded to professor Peter Wendel
  • The Excellence in Scholarship Award was awarded to professors Jake Charles, Mary Hoopes, and Ed Larson

Furthermore, alongside the opportunity to recognize all nominees and recipients, the Parris Institute extended special acknowledgment to former institute directors for their instrumental role in laying the foundation for the institute's remarkable progress.

The Parris Institute congratulates all the award winners and nominees.