Facebook pixel Moriarity First-Year Moot Court Competition 2022 - Surf Report | Pepperdine Caruso School of Law Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Caruso School of Law

Moriarity First-Year Moot Court Competition 2022

Pepperdine Caruso Law's annual Colonel John L. and Maria Moriarity First-Year Moot Court Competition final round was held on Friday, April 1, 2022. The final round judges consisted of Caruso Law alumnus Jeremy Evans (LLM '18), founder and CEO of California Sports Lawyer; 30-year Caruso Law faculty member, Professor Shelley Saxer; and the Honorable Terry A. Bork of the Los Angeles County Superior Court. Caruso Law students Melissa Dolezel served as the bailiff for the final round, and Christina Ricci served as the timekeeper.  The competition donor, Colonel John Moriarity, who contributes to the competition fund annually, also attended the final round.

After the final round of the competition, Aria Aghalarpour and Briana Matusovsky were awarded first place, and each will receive a $500 cash prize. Phillip Allevato and Jacob Walker were awarded second place, and each will each receive $250. Congratulations to all the first-year students who competed with excellence in the competition.

The Moot Court Board leadership team hosts the annual competition. This year's Moot Court Board Moriarity Competition Co-Chairs were Samantha Doody and Brittany Farias. Hannah Katz, the Moot Court Board Vice Chair, and Iasia Beh, the Moot Court Board Chair, were also crucial to the competition's success, while the Moot Court Board faculty advisor, Professor Victoria Votino, supervised the competition. Thank you all for your hard work and dedication to Pepperdine Caruso Law's Appellate Advocacy Program.

Moriarity final bench and winners