Facebook pixel Caruso Law Hosts 6th Annual Parris Awards Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Caruso School of Law

Caruso Law Hosts 6th Annual Parris Awards

As they say, the show must go on! Every spring, Pepperdine Caruso Law invites our entire community of faculty, staff, and students to nominate outstanding candidates - those students who represent the core mission of purpose, service, and leadership in all that they pursue - for the Annual Parris Awards. On April 8, Pepperdine Caruso Law carried on with the tradition, hosting its annual ceremony in a socially distanced fashion. More than 160 people joined us on Zoom, and in his opening remarks, Dean Paul Caron expressed, "We have missed you all over the past four weeks, and we are so happy to have this opportunity to be together virtually."

Nominations are based on actual narratives of stories that capture each candidate's attributes. The 2020 Parris Award recipients are:

Excellence in Professionalism

Winner: Emily Holland
Presenter: Jeff Baker

Excellence in Peacemaking

Winner: Victoria Votino
Presenter: Nancy Hunt

Excellence in Service

Winner: Chris De Lorenz
Presenter: Maureen Weston

Excellence in Courage

Winner: Spencer Post
Presenter: Chalak Richards

Winner: Ashley Torres
Presenter: Tanya Cooper

Excellence in Leadership

Winner: Luke Manzo
Presenter: Naomi Goodno

Excellence in Character

Winner: Alex Prime
Presenter: Steve Schultz

The Pepperdine Award

Winner: Alex Prime and Jacob Bliss
Presenter: Dean Caron

Evan T. Carthen Awards for Inspirational Leadership

The Evan T. Carthen Awards for Inspirational Leadership are named for Evan Carthen who was a member of the Class of 2019. His sister, who attended this year's ceremony, addressed the Class of 2020 on behalf of the Carthen family. Dr. Megan Carthen-Jackson said, "I commend you for your grit and determination...you have all stayed the course and provided true inspiration in navigating uncharted territories."

Winners: Max Johnson, Jonathan Maseng, Ryan Hiepler
Presenter: Professor Kubisch, Professor S. Williams, Professor Helfand

Since its inception in 2015, the Parris Institute for Professional Excellence has initiated a strategic investment in law students with an emphasis on developing who they are as leaders as much as what they know as lawyers. For more information, please visit our website.

Zoom screenshot from the 2020 Parris Awards