Facebook pixel Nootbaar Institute Fellows | Pepperdine Caruso School of Law Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Caruso School of Law

Nootbaar Institute Fellows

The Nootbaar Fellows Program at Pepperdine Caruso Law brings together a community of distinguished scholars in the law and religion field. Through regular workshops and conferences, Nootbaar fellows share innovative research and academic projects with the ultimate goal of deepening knowledge and wisdom in the field of law and religion.  Annually, we hold a Nootbaar Fellows Conference here in Malibu.  This conference is scheduled to expand over the next three academic years thanks to a generous donation pledge from Founders First.

Meet the Fellows

Netta Barak head shot with hand rested under chin

Netta Barak-Corren

Associate Professor of Law, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

barakcorren@huji.ac.il

Stephanie Barclay

Stephanie Barclay

Associate Professor of Law, University of Notre Dame

stephanie.barclay@nd.edu

Alan Brownstein

Alan Brownstein

Professor of Law emeritus, UC Davis School of Law

aebrownstein@ucdavis.edu

Nathan Chapman head shot

Nathan Chapman

Pope F. Brock Professor of Law, Univeristy of Georgia School of Law

nsc@uga.edu

Marc DeGirolami head shot

Marc DeGirolami

Henry Newman Professor of Law and Co-Director, Center for Law and the Human Person, St. John's University School of Law

marc.degirolami@stjohns.edu

Rick Garnett head shot

Rick Garnett

Professor, University of Notre Dame

rgarnett@nd.edu

Frederick Gedicks

Frederick Gedicks

Guy Anderson Chair & Professor of Law, Brigham Young University Law School

gedicksf@law.byu.edu

Sherif Girgis

Sherif Girgis

Associate Professor of Law, University of Notre Dame

sgirgis2@nd.edu

Jessie Hill

Jessie Hill

Judge Ben C. Green Professor of Law, Case Western Reserve University

bjh11@case.edu

Paul Horowitz head shot

Paul Horwitz

Gordon Rosen Professor, University of Alabama School of Law

phorwitz@law.ua.edu

Christopher Lund head shot

Christopher C. Lund

Professor of Law, Wayne State University Law School

lund@wayne.edu

Victor Muniz head shot

Víctor M. Muñiz-Fraticelli

Professor, McGill University

victor.muniz@mcgill.ca

Stefan McDaniel

Stefan McDaniel

Associate Professor of Law, University of Notre Dame

smcdani3@nd.edu

Nicholas Miller

Nicholas Miller

Professor of Law and Religion at Washington Adventist University

nmiller@schaerr-jaffe.com

James Nelson head shot

James Nelson

Vinson & Elkins Professor at the University of Houston Law Center

jdnelso3@central.uh.edu

Jim Oleske

Jim Oleske

Professor, Lewis & Clark Law School

joleske@lclark.edu

Nathan Oman pictured speaking

Nathan Oman

Rollins Professor, William & Mary Law School

nate.oman@gmail.com

Brandon Paradise

Brandon Paradise

Associate Professor of Law, Rutgers Law School

bparadise003@gmail.com

Laura Portuondo

Laura Portuondo

Fellow with the Program for the Study of Reproductive Justice at Yale Law School

laura.portuondo@yale.edu 

Rev Patrick E. Reidy

Rev Patrick E. Reidy

Associate Professor of Law, Notre Dame Law School

preidy@nd.edu 

Zoe Robinson

Zoe Robinson

Professor of Political Science, Australian National University

zoe.robinson@anu.edu.au

Zalman Rothschild

Zalman Rothschild

Bigelow Fellow at the University of Chicago Law School and Fellow at the Stanford Constitutional Law Center

zalman.rothschild@gmail.com

Audra Savage

Audra Savage

AAssistant Professor of Law, Wake Forest Law

savageal@wfu.edu

Chagai Schlesinger

Chagai Schlesinger

Postdoctural Visiting Scholar, New York Univeristy Law School

chagai.schlesinger@nyu.edu

Michael Schwartzman

Micah Schwartzman

Hard Cross Dillard Professor of Law, University of Virginia School of Law

mjs4d@virginia.edu

Amy Sepinwall smiling standing on a balcony

Amy Sepinwall

Associate Professor, Legal Studies and Business Ethics, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

sepin@upenn.edu

Liz Sepper head shot

Elizabeth Sepper

Professor of Law, University of Texas at Austin

esepper@law.utexas.edu

Nomi Stolzenberg

Nomi Stolzenberg

Nathan and Lilly Shapell Chair, USC Gould School of Law

nomideplume@gmail.com

Mark Storslee

Mark Storslee

Assistant Professor of Law, Penn State University

storslee@psu.edu

Annu Su head shot

Anna Su

Associate Professor, University of Toronto Faculty of Law

anna.su@utoronto.ca

Nelson Tebbe head shot black and white

Nelson Tebbe

Jane M.G. Foster Professor of Law, Cornell Law School

nt277@cornell.edu

Asma Uddin

Asma Uddin

Inclusive America Project Fellow, Aspen Institute

asmauddin@gmail.com

Lael Weinberger

Lael Weinberger

Fellow at the Stanford Constitutional Law Center

laelweinberger@gmail.com

Fellows Conference

  February 2-3, 2023

Chris Lund

Favoritism, Coercion and the Establishment Clause

Christopher Lund

Netta Barak

On Compelling Interests and the Costs of Freedom

Netta Barak-Corren

Frederick Gedicks

The Myth of Second-Class Free Exercise

Frederick Gedicks

Marc Degirolami

Mysterizing Religion

Marc DeGirolami

Laura Portuondo

Effecting Free Exercise and Equal Protection

Laura Portuondo

Pat Reidy

Sacred Easements

Pat Reidy

  May 12, 2022

Lael Weinberger

Established Churches and American Church Autonomy

Lael Weinberger

Amy Sepinwall

Breaking Down Bigotry

Amy Sepinwall

Jessie Hill

Religious Nondelegation

Jessie Hill

Alan Brownstein

The Future of Schools and the First Amendment

Alan Brownstein

 

 

 

Workshops

  2022-2023

Fragility, Not Superiority? Assessing the Fairness of Special Religious Protections

Sherif Girgis

August 26, 2022

Second-Best Free Exercise

Christopher Lund

September 30, 2022

Rebranding Strict Scrutiny

Stephanie Barclay

November 4, 2022

Tender and Taint: Money and Complicity in Entanglement Jurisprudence

Amy Sepinwall

December 9, 2022

Religious Liberty Challenges as Health Insurance Law

Elizabeth Sepper and Lindsey Wiley

January 13, 2023

Religious Freedom and Abortion

Micah Schwartzman and Richard Schragger

March 14, 2023

  2021 - 2022

The Principle and Politics of Liberty of Conscience

Nelson Tebbe

September 17, 2021

Blindspot: The Misinterpretation of Sherbert and the Reconstruction of Smith

Nomi Stolzenberg

October 15, 2021

Coase and Accommodation: A Reply

Frederick Gedicks

November 12, 2021

Government Religious Hospitals

Elizabeth Sepper and James Nelson

December 10, 2021

Hermeneutic Justice and Hermeneutic Authority

Víctor Muñiz-Fraticelli

February 4, 2022

Examining the Effects of Antidiscrimination Laws on Child Welfare: Law on the Books

Netta Barak-Corren

March 2, 2022

The Fair Notice Rationale for Qualified Immunity

Nathan Chapman

April 6, 2022