Facebook pixel 2017-2018 Parris Awards Honor Student Excellence Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Caruso School of Law

2017-2018 Parris Awards Honor Student Excellence

April 4, 2018 | Each spring, Pepperdine Law presents the Parris Awards to honor the third-year students who exhibit the highest order of the pillars of professionalism. Since its inception in 2015, the Parris Institute for Professional Formation has initiated a strategic investment in law students with an emphasis on developing who they are as leaders as much as what they know as lawyers. All faculty, staff, and students of Pepperdine Law are invited to nominate candidates for the awards, making these awards unique and particularly special.

This year's distinguished guests included Pepperdine University President Andrew Benton, Executive Vice President Gary Hanson, Provost and Chief Academic Officer Rick Marrs, Chief Business Officer Nicolle Taylor, Dean Paul Caron, Dean Emeritus Ron Phillips, and the Carthen Family. Ms. Twillea Evans-Carthen presented the Evan T. Carthen Award for Inspirational Leadership to three first-year students, one student per law section.

Nominations are based on actual narratives of stories that capture each candidate's attributes. The 2018 Parris Award recipients are:

Evan T. Carthen 1L Award for Inspirational Leadership
Section A - Victoria Votino
Section B - Grant Rasak
Section C - Jacob Bliss

Excellence in Professionalism
Emily Sauer

Excellence in Service
Caelan Rottman

Excellence in Peacemaking
Chiemela Okwandu

Excellence in Courage
Ahllam Berri

Excellence in Leadership
Jessica Egan

Excellence in Character
Kyser Blakely

The Pepperdine Award
Gregory Lewis

The Parris Institute provides the inspiration and substance for students to invest as much in who they are as leaders as they do in what they know as legal scholars. Pepperdine is grateful to Rex and Carrol Parris for establishing this vital institute and we are extremely proud of the profound impact the Parris Institute is having on our students. Congratulations to all of this year's deserving Parris Award nominees and recipients.