California Bar Deadlines and Fees
Students should plan ahead for the expenses associated with taking the bar exam and becoming a licensed attorney, which total of minimum of between $3,500 and $5,500, not including living expenses in the time spent preparing for the exam. In addition to the schedule of fees below, students should budget for summer living expenses, travel, and perhaps hotel expenses during the exam. Note that late fees can be substantial if you miss applicable deadlines.
|Registration as a Law Student||The State Bar advises students to register within 90 days of matriculation in law school.||$119 (no late fee)|
|Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam (MPRE)||Please see registration deadlines at the National Conference of Bar Examiners website.||$135|
|Application for Determination of Moral Character||Students should plan to complete at the end of their second year or beginning of their third year.||$551|
|Live Scan Fingerprinting||Students should plan to complete at the end of their second year or beginning of their third year.||Varies by vendor (total cost generally ranges from $54-$124)|
|Application to Take the California Bar Exam*||Please see registration deadlines on the State Bar website.||$677|
|Laptop Fee||Due at the same time as the bar exam application.||$153|
|Bar Review Course and Other Study Resources||Varies||Varies by provider. Estimated expense from $1,400 to $3,500|
||Purchase by first day of Third-Year Bar Exam Workshop Course. No deadline for students not taking the workshop.||$330|
*Please note, applications typically become available in March for the July exam and in November for the February exam. Some popular examination sites fill quickly. Students should register early to ensure they are assigned to one of their preferred testing centers.