Skip Navigation


Geoffrey H. Palmer Center for Entrepreneurship and the Law

Connect With Us  

Find Pepperdine Law on Itunes U Find Pepperdine Law  on YouTube Pepperdine Law School is on Facebook Find Pepperdine Law on Google+ Follow Pepperdine Law School on Twitter

Meet the Faculty

Law School Professors

Janet E. Kerr

Janet E. Kerr is the Founder and Executive Director of the Palmer Center. She is a Professor of Law at the Pepperdine University School of Law, where she teaches Corporations, Securities Regulations, and Advanced Securities Regulations.

In addition to her current positions at Pepperdine, Ms. Kerr has been a consultant to various companies on Sarbanes-Oxley Act compliance since 2002 and has been a securities laws lecturer and consultant to several countries, including China and Thailand. Ms. Kerr has been appointed to numerous state bar committees dealing with corporation issues, and has been an expert in numerous high profile business lawsuits. View Full Bio.

Thomas G. Bost

Thomas G. Bost has served as a professor at Lipscomb University and as an adjunct professor at the School of Law and at Seaver College. He is an elected member of the American Law Institute, a member of the American Bar Association, the American College of Tax Counsel, the State Bar of California, and the Los Angeles County Bar Association. View Full Bio.


Jack J. Coe, Jr.

Jack J. Coe, Jr. is an elected member of the American Law Institute, a fellow of the American Bar Foundation, admitted to practice in California and Washington, and a member of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, London. He is co-chair of the International Commercial Dispute Resolution Committee of the ABA International Law Section, and chairs the Academic Council of the Institute for Transnational Arbitration. Professor Coe has argued international arbitral claims under NAFTA, and served as an expert in investor-state arbitrations. Coe is also an arbitrator listed on the panel of the International Centre for Dispute resolution (AAA). View Full Bio.

Barry P. McDonald

Barry P. McDonald has published several articles on the law governing freedom of expression in such prominent journals as the Emory Law Journal, the Notre Dame Law Review and the Ohio State Law Journal. In law school, Professor McDonald received the Order of the Coif, the Arlyn Miner Legal Writing Award, and was an associate editor of the Northwestern Law Review. Upon graduation he clerked for the Honorable James K. Logan of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, and then served as a law clerk to Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist during the 1989-90 term of the Supreme Court of the United States. View Full Bio.

James M. McGoldrick, Jr.

James M. McGoldrick, Jr. began his career as a trial attorney for the U.S. Department of Justice in the attorney general's Program for Honor Law Graduates, Antitrust Division. He is a member of the California state bar and the American Bar Association. Professor McGoldrick is admitted to practice in the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. View Full Bio.


Grant Nelson

Grant Nelson teaches Real Estate Finance, Advanced Real Estate Transactions, Property, Land Use Regulation, and Remedies. Previously, at UCLA he received the School of Law's Rutter Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2000 and the UCLA University's Distinguished Teaching Award in 2002. He was the co-reporter for the American Law Institute's Restatement of Property (Third)--Mortgages (1997), serves on the Law School Editorial Advisory Board of the West Publishing Company, and as a commissioner of the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws. View Full Bio.

Grant L. Ogden

Gregory L. Ogden is a cum laude graduate of University of California at Los Angeles, and his J.D. is from the University of California at Davis School of Law. He was the senior research editor for the UC Davis Law Review. Following law school, he was awarded the Reginald Heber Smith Fellowship, and worked for the San Mateo Legal Aid Society, representing clients in numerous administrative hearings, and other civil cases. He then worked for a small law firm representing clients in many administrative hearings, as well as civil and criminal litigation. In 1976, he returned to the academic world as a law and humanities teaching fellow at Temple University School of Law. He earned an LL.M. degree with a concentration in legal education from Temple in 1978. He joined the Pepperdine law faculty in 1978, as an associate professor of law. He became a professor of law in 1982. He was awarded the Chambership Fellowship in Legislation at Columbia School of Law, and received an LL.M. with a concentration in administrative law from Columbia in 1981. View Full Bio.

Mark S. Scarberry

Mark S. Scarberry decided during his first year at UCLA Law School that he wanted to teach law. He graduated first in his class and then joined the Pepperdine law faculty in 1982 after four years' practice experience with Jones, Day, Reavis & Pogue, Los Angeles. His major academic interests are bankruptcy (particularly Chapter 11 business reorganization), contracts, legal philosophy, and constitutional law. View Full Bio.

Adjunct Professors

John Allen, Dan Bishop, Brent Lawson Caslin, Scott Chaplan, Marc P. Goodman, Eric Halvorson, Curt Hessler, Eric E. Johnson, Rosemarie F. Jones, Nicolas M. Kublicki, Matthew Neco, James D. Prendergast, Rob Rader, Charles B. Rosenberg, Mark G. Sellers, Gia Honnen Weisdorn, Bertram R. Zweig.

London Professor

  • Jeremy Brier