Skip Navigation


News and Events

Connect With Us  

Find Pepperdine Law on Itunes U Find Pepperdine Law  on YouTube Pepperdine Law School is on Facebook Find Pepperdine Law on Google+ Follow Pepperdine Law School on Twitter

Law School News

Annual Law Dinner Highlights John Bolton, Student Advocates, and Professors of the Year

Pepperdine University School of Law welcomed more than 800 students, alumni, faculty, staff, and friends to the 32nd Annual School of Law Dinner on Saturday, March 7, at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, California.

The event featured a keynote speech by the Honorable John R. Bolton, former ambassador of the United States to the United Nations. Second-year law student Melissa Thornsberry gave the invocation and third-year Jerren Wright led the Pledge of Allegiance. Second-year Aly Challoner sang the national anthem.

Dean Ken Starr gave remarks on recent School of Law news and presented the awards for Professor of the Year. Peter Wendel was named 1L Professor of the Year and Bob Popovich was named 2L Professor of the Year.

Dean Starr also announced the winners of the Vincent S. Dalsimer Moot Court Competition, which took place earlier in the day. The award for First Place team went to Kathleen Benton and Kimberley Hyson, who argued on the behalf of the petitioner. James McCabe and Jake Nare were awarded second place.

The final round of the competition was judged by Bolton along with Ninth Circuit Judge Johnnie Rawlinson and Fifth Circuit Judge Emilio Garza. After the closing arguments, the judges gave feedback to the students. "I would like to congratulate you four," said Judge Rawlinson. "I commend you for your presence before the court and your knowledge of the facts of the case. You were all prepared, which will serve you well in your careers."

"You're going to be very talented lawyers," said Judge Garza. Judge Bolton added, "I was very impressed by the quality of the advocacy. Congratulations to all of you."

Additional photos of the event will be available shortly.